Raknno Cricket


Raknno Konkanni Weekly published from Mangalore a prestigiousKonkanni Weekly of Mangalorean Christian Community for the past seventy years had organized RAKNNO TROPHY in Israel on the 21st, 28th of June and 5th of July 2008. It was a unique meet of variety of sports and games with the aim to bring in awareness towards positive reading habits in the mother tongue Konkanni.

The second face of the Trophy was Raknno Cricket Trophy which was held on the 28th of June 2008. It was held at Luna Park Ground, Ramathaviv, Israel. There were 12 teams who took part in this second face. Each team was given 6 overs to play.

The finals and the semi-finals of the Raknno Cricket Trophy wereheld on the 5th of July 2008.

The Winners and Runners

Nofyam Friends Circle (NFC) have won the Raknno Cricket Trophy.They have scored 54 runs in 6 overs loosing a single wicket. Sunil Nazareth of Moodbidri had headed the team as Captain.

The Eagle Team were the runners with 46 runs in 6 overs loosing 8 wickets. Maurice D’Souza of Nidpali-Puttur was the Captain of the runners.

John Batkal of Nofyam Friends Circle (NFC) was the best runner with 24 runs in his account. Xavier of Kolalgiri-Udupi is the best bowler with 2 wickets to his credit.

Konkan Catholic Association of Israel and Indian Community of Israel joined hands with the organizing Committee of Raknno Trophy in Israel as to successfully coordinate the sports meet in Israel. Thelocal organizing committee was comprised of Joseph Neri, Katipalla who is the local Convener of the Raknno Trophy with Navin Pais Naravi, William Lopez Coorg, Pradeep D’Souza Shirtady and Tom M. S. Nelyadi as the Executive Committee members. The Raknno Editor Fr Francis Rodrigues has guided the coordination. Huge numbers of Mangalorean Konkannis and Konkannis from other localities were witnesses of the Trophy.

News and photos: Joseph Neri, Israel